The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

Originally Published: 08-27-2017

About the Author

Author Diana Gabaldon is the author to the bestselling book series Outlander.  She is a talented storyteller and can go into intense detail throughout her books.

Outlander Series

This entire book series is about Claire Randall Fraser and her travels through the stones.  It is a very poignant, moving time-travel romance that has touched the hearts of many.

It’s also about Frank Randall.  He was the man she left behind in modern day.  But he also has the face of an enemy in the 1700s.  Makes for good story-telling!!!

It’s also about Jamie Fraser.  The Highlander whom she fell in love with when she slipped through the stones the first time.


This story begins with Claire on a second honeymoon with her husband Frank.  They needed to renew their relationship as both had served in the war.

As Frank is a history buff, they spend lots of time going over the history of Scotland and Britain and the surrounding country.

It is during one of these times, that Claire falls through the Stone Circle from 1940s to the 1740s.

There she meets Jamie.  And what follows is a story of a love so deep that it spans time and space!

What’s just as good, if not better, is the TV series that has been made for this book series.  I read the first two books years ago and binged watched the first two seasons of the Outlander TV series.

There may have been an exceptional screen writer to be able to take the lines of the story and make them into a living, breathing movie.  But the story is poignant and touching and amazing and ….. moving.  A truly entertaining story.

I remembered the books from reading them more than 10years ago and was reacquainted with the whole story line when I watched the series.  But this is the type of story that stays with you long after reading them.

Dragonfly in Amber

This second book in the Outlander Series, Dragonfly in Amber, is where Claire goes back to the 1940s in order to be able to have the child she is carrying.

The story goes back and forth from the 1900s to the 1700s. 

In Dragonfly in Amber, Claire recounts how they tried to stop the battle of Culloden from happening.

Just before the battle starts, Jamie makes her go back to the 1940s to protect her and their unborn child.

The story of the stones is a whole other story all by itself.  Author D. Gabaldon does a great job of the history of the stones and what they find out on how to use them and who might be able to use them.  

The stones worked for Claire because she had Frank on one side and Jamie on the other.  

It’s heartbreaking to see her leave Jamie but knowing that she is going into more modern times to save the child is just as touching.


At the end of Dragonfly in Amber, Claire finds out that Jamie lived after the battle of Culloden.  She has been living without him and doesn’t want to any longer.  She makes the tough decision to go back to him.

So in Voyager, with the help of Roger Wakefield, she makes preparations to go back.  And she successfully does, because Jamie is on the other side of the stones.

The books themselves are long and detailed.  The author goes into great detail about the life and history of the times.

That was the hardest part to get through – all the history.  Diana Gabaldon is a great storyteller despite all the history that she shares.

Drums of Autumn

When Claire went back to Jamie, she left behind her daughter in the 1960s.  While Brianna may be all grown up and have a life of her own, she misses her mother fiercely.

To ease her mind that her mother found Jamie, she starts looking for history that would show what they did.

What she finds scares her and sends her to the stone circle.  Her mother could go through, why can’t she???

What follows is a long story of both Brianna and Roger going through the stone circle and living life in the the 1700s.  

Throughout the rest of the story, they have a hard time meeting each other, both figuratively and literally.  

The ending is happy though.  Which is nice.  Makes me wonder what the rest of the stories are about!!!  A lot of history for sure.  Diana Gabaldon is an excellent story teller.

Each of the rest of the Outlander book series carries the rest of the story of Jamie and Claire.  When I have had a chance to read them, I’ll include my take on them.

Take a look at Diana Gabaldon’s website.  She has an awesome site and does a great job of explaining her stories and how they all fit together.

Book 9 is Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone.

If you liked the Outlander Series, you might like: